Spambots: Evolution in Action

Neo has up an amusing piece.

I’ve got various kinds of spam blockers on this blog. They don’t work perfectly. but if they didn’t work at all, I’d have hundreds of spam comments here a day. As it is, there are probably fifteen or so, which I remove almost as soon as they come in.

It’s been interesting to watch the evolution of the spammers. Like the replicates of science fiction, over time they’ve become more and more like real commenters—at least, they become better at mimicking what they think real commenters sound like.

Still, they’re not all that good. It’s easy to tell a spam comment from a real one because the former come in waves, repeat, often have odd syntax and grammar (non-native English speakers?), and tend to be posted on old threads.

And, of course, the websites they list in connection with their comments are always advertising something: sex, drugs, (no rock and roll). Instead of rock and roll we have gambling and, of all things, lots of garden equipment.

I thought I’d share a few spam comments with you so you could appreciate, as I do, their style and variety.

First there are the sycophants. They figure we bloggers are suckers for praise; perhaps they’re right:

I love your site. They really look very nice. The articles provided are long enough to provide great content but not so long as to be totally engrossing, if you know what I mean….

Just wanted to drop a note to let you know what a great site you have. It is a great resource and a great place to drop by….

Your blog posts are insightful. I will take them into deep thought and consideration. Your point of view is very smart and intellectual. Charlie…

Suzy told me you wrote nicely, I am glad I visited this page now….

Just stopped to say hello. I like your blog and it came from your heart. Beautiful!…

If only all articles were written equal… then all would be written like this. Thanks!

It gets better. Or worse.

Explore posts in the same categories: Culture, Evolution, Humour

Leave a comment