Rmax international’s training methodology

http://www.clubbell.tv/

Found this while looking for the weight of club bells. I was comparing it to the steel swords I use for training, to see what kind of difference in force the circular motion was generating.

If I use fajing, energy projection, with the sword swing, it often tries to lock my elbow out, producing tennis elbow. Otherwise known as one of the six ways a joint can break. That energy must be directed to my core/torso by nailing the shoulder socket down into the seat, allowing smooth energy to pass from hand to shoulder. The shoulder thus acts as my elbow, given the sword creates another joint on my arm. I eventually have to go over my movements in slow motion, to re-correct things via reconstruction.

But going back to the clubs, which weigh about 10-15 pounds starting off, the exercises look interesting and somewhat similar in mechanics to sword training. The circular rotational movements plus chi gong have also healed some joint problems I had before. Ones I thought would never heal.

What the author there calls “fascia” is the same thing as the fat deposit in the gut that stores chi or energy in chi gong and taiji chuan. Martial arts have often spoken about power coming from the guts or the hips. That’s the fascia at work in Western science translation. The bones function much like metal rods, they generate electricity when compressed like piezoelectric crystals. The fascia then is an insulation around the bones, rotation and movement thus produces chi or an electromagnetic field effect. Invisible, but can be felt. The “core” is thus strengthened internally via internal energy as well as externally via blood/muscle and heat. Although technically blood and heat are internal ingredients.

EDIT: Just reconstructed my training for today using the knowledge by author Scott S. I had avoided using the widest potential movement, since I was training with realistic attacks in mind, minimizing my degree of movement and excess energy, blocking the lines that can reach my body. Extremely long forms of curves such as the shoulder and arm going behind my back were avoided, as that would place my defending sword out of line of my center, where my head and organs are. By de-focusing on precision and edge control, I could tax my fingers and relax my shoulder joints far more than I could when training with only the martial movements in mind. This has given me a great workout and I can already feel the forearm and hand muscles I’ve wanted to strengthen, recuperating from fatigue. I acquired an iaito, an unsharpened steel katana, precisely because I wanted to exercise with fatigue in mind, given that hand soreness can produce lack of edge control which can carve out body parts unintentionally with a sharp sword.

The wide angle “club” swings feel very loose and I can additionally add taiji chuan and target focus training slow movement methodology to it as well.

Explore posts in the same categories: Traditional Martial Arts

Leave a Reply

